Cod fish with asparagus

Posted on Updated on

barlauch 005My Friday treatment was that excellent dish.

Ingredients for 4 persons: 1 pound fresh asparagus, trimmed

1/4 cup water, 1 pound cod fillet, cut into four pieces, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, 1 teaspoon salt-free lemon-pepper seasoning, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 2 tablespoons butter, cubed, 2 teaspoons capers, minced fresh parsley, optional, 3 twigs of thyme, 1 kg potatoes

Directions

First I cooked the potatoes in their skins, then when they were cooked enough I peeled them. I put them away for a while.

I cleaned the fresh green asparagus and put them in a pan. I poured over 300 ml of water. I added 1 teaspoon of sugar, 1 vegetable stock and some lemon juice (2 tablespoons). Ten minutes later when the asparagus were tender, I strained the water.

I washed and cleaned the cod fillets, salted and peppered to taste. I fried them in some flour only on one sides. I melted some butter in a pan and baked the cod fillets until they were cooked enough.

In a separate frying pan I melted some butter then I cut the potatoes into half and place them into the pan. I salted the potatoes to taste and flavoured with 3 twigs of rosemary and I fried them until they got a golden brown colour.

I served the cod fish with the delicious crispy asparagus and with the fried potatoes! For the finishing touch I relished the asparagus with a bit of Café de Páris sauce from Escoffier! It was a gorgeous Friday treatment again!

You can also prepare this dish in the oven on that way: Arrange cod over asparagus. Sprinkle with lemon juice, lemon pepper and garlic powder. Dot with butter; sprinkle with capers. Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 12-15 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork and asparagus is tender. If desired, sprinkle with parsley.barlauch 007

 

2 thoughts on “Cod fish with asparagus

    gabivan said:
    April 18, 2015 at 9:46 am

    Those potatoes look too good! Yum!

      spajzgirl responded:
      April 18, 2015 at 10:57 am

      Thanks a lot! It was!!!

Leave a Reply

