Super Chia, Poppy seeds, Citrus biscuit

Posted on

I love good biscuits. But a biscuit that you can hide good stuff in is another ball game. I got a citrus box on the other day and it contained orange, lemon and grapefruit. So I had to work out a way to use them up. I just wanted to try and make them yummy. Thus, these grapefruit, chia and poppy seed cookies came about. I was excited-nervous. After popping them in the oven I googled baking with grapefruits and to my big surprise there weren’t many good recipes. But since I studied bakery and chocolate making in Belgium I called my ex-teacher, Benny and he immediately gave some good advices about grapefruit in biscuits and said that his version was totally awesome.

After our conversation I’ve tried my best to make some so called healthy biscuit. Being entirely honest, only you can make the judgement call as to whether they are for your kids and if they aren’t you could just eat them all yourself My chia-poppy biscuits were kept for a week in an airtight container. If you don’t think you could eat them all within a week then you could freeze balls of the dough ready to defrost on trays and bake. The chia seeds go unnoticed in these because of the poppy seeds and add a delicious crunch to the biscuits.

Grapefruit, chia and poppy seed cookies

Ingredients: 150g unsalted butter, softened, 1/2 cup raw sugar, 1 egg, 2 cups flour,  1/2 tbsp poppy seeds, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, zest of one grapefruit or lemon, orange, 3 tbsps grapefruit/lemon/orange juice

Instructions

1.      Preheat oven to 160°C fan-forced.

2.      Line two baking trays with paper or silicone liners.

3.      Using a mixer, beat the butter and sugar until pale and creamy.

4.      Add egg beat for one minute more.

5.      Add the flour to the egg/butter mixture.

6.      Add poppy seeds, chia seeds, grapefruit zest and grapefruit juice. Stir to combine.

7.      Roll level tablespoons of mixture into balls.

8.      Place the balls 5cms apart and flatten with 2 fingers.

9.      Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly golden.

10.  Cool on trays for 5 minutes then transfer to wire racks to cool completely. And what was the end result? Well, they were totally divine!P1160863

Leave a comment